How Did You Miss That?

A Story to Help Teach Children How to Self-Monitor

Author: Bryan Smith
Illustrator: Lisa M. Griffin
Add to Cart




SKU:56-017 ,UPC:




When he rushes home after an exhausting night of baseball, the last thing Braden wants to hear is Mom and Dad harping about everything he must finish on his to-do list. Of course, they wouldn't be on his case if he actually paid attention and did what he needed to do. From chores at home to questions on a quiz, Braden never checks his work for mistakes or to see if he missed anything. Is there a solution to his sloppiness? Yes... but will Braden be willing to try it? Can he become a master of self-monitoring?

Self-monitoring can be challenging to understand for children and skills such as completing work accurately and completely, staying on task, following instructions the first time, waiting to be called on, and getting the teacher's attention appropriately can be challenging to master. Award-winning author, happy father, and popular school counselor Bryan Smith highlights the importance of slowing down, being accurate, and double-checking one's work in the seventh picture book of the Executive FUNction series, written for students in grades K through 5. Tips for parents and educators are included at the end of the story to help children develop their abilities to self-monitor. 31 pgs.

Extend the learning with Five Downloadable Activities! Help reinforce the steps taught from the story with a Poster!

The series also includes:

Published by Boys Town Press

ISBN: 978-1-944882-45-7

Customers Also Viewed