The Misadventures of Michael McMichaels, Vol. 3: The Creepy Campers

Tony Penn
Brian Martin
(2 reviews) Write a Review
  • Book cover of  The Misadventures of Michael McMichaels, Vol. 3: The Creepy Campers



Michael, his best friend Kenny and the always-annoying Harriett are at a New Mexico summer camp. They are stuck in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by spooky woods and visited by strange flying saucers… and that’s the least of their worries! Some of their fellow campers are doing all they can to win camp competitions and all the glory, fame and prizes that come along with it. They cheat, lie, bully and intimidate. If Michael wants to win, can he bring himself to use those same underhanded tactics? Of course! The taste of victory becomes so sweet for Michael, he can’t stop bending the rules… even as his guilty conscience grows heavy.

Written for children in grades 1-5, The Creepy Campers forces readers to think about their own ethical choices. Is winning at any cost worth it? Tony Penn’s expertly-crafted plot twists and sharp dialogue help children clearly see the many real consequences of cheating and deception. 83 pgs.

Book 3 in the Misadventures of Michael McMichaels series. Bundle and SAVE by purchasing the set!

Published by Boys Town Press

ISBN: 978-1-944882-10-5


View AllClose

2 Reviews

  • 4
    Wonderful Series

    Posted by Devoted Mommy of 3, blogger on Sep 10th 2018

    Michael finds himself caught up in competing with his fellow campers. After each event, the winning camper is awarded a ribbon. As the challenges get harder, Michael finds it easier to cut a few corners, even if it’s considered cheating. Winning feels really good and soon Michael is in over his head. Is it worth winning if you’re breaking the rules?

    ‘Creepy Campers’ is the third installment in the Misadventures of Michael McMichaels. Primarily, it’s for children in grades 1-5. If they’re reading independently, I’d recommend for grades 4-5. It’s about 90 pages (including pictures). Each book in the series provides a strong message geared to helping kids make strong, morally sound choices. Here, we have Michael having to make a choice between easy & right. It’s a timely, real-life message delivered within an engaging plot.

    Michael is the type of character that both boys and girls will like and will likely find he has a lot in common with them. His antics are typical for a boy his age- nothing too over the top. As an adult reader, you may find his behavior humorous, but children will easily identify why it becomes a moral dilemma for him. In this book, he has to make choices in regards to cheating as well as ‘telling’ on people who may seek retribution. Also, he must choose whether or not to go against what everyone else is telling him in order to stay true to himself.

    What makes Michael’s series great is that the message isn’t preachy or even easily noted. It simply blends in with the normal flow of the plot. Tony Penn has done a great job with putting his hero into situations that come up everyday and showing kids the consequences of Michael’s actions. It’s not a fluff piece. It’s fiction with a lot of real scenarios.

    I feel it’s a great series and highly recommend it for elementary students.

  • 5
    Humorous Read

    Posted by Alice Berger @ Bergers Book Reviews on Jul 16th 2018

    The Creepy Campers is a humorous look at cheating and deception taken to extremes, and why it’s such a disastrous idea. Kids will enjoy reading this funny story while learning a lesson in the process.

View AllClose