The Misadventures of Michael McMichaels, Vol. 4: The Double-Dog Dare!

A Fun Chapter Book about Respect, Open-Mindedness, and the Value of Friendship

Author: Tony Penn
Illustrator: Brian Martin
                   Look Inside!
Add to Cart




SKU:58-004 ,UPC:




In volume 4 of the popular Misadventures of Michael McMichaels series, Michael finds himself in hot water again… but this time, it’s all in the name of salvaging his status as Kenny’s best friend.

Michael McMichaels is a spirited, carefree third grader who enjoys adventure. Michael and his best friend, Kenny, like to build forts, play video games, and ride their bikes through the neighborhood.

"I’d rather stick my face in the garbage for an hour than have to deal with the mess I got myself into this time. It’s a Double-Dog Dare contest...and, it’s bad, REALLY bad. But I have to do it because if I don’t, it means I’m not really my buddy Kenny’s best friend."

When wealthy new student Zeke moves into the neighborhood, his generous gift giving threatens to steal away Michael’s best friend Kenny. Green with envy (and not just of Zeke’s brand new tennis shoes), Michael challenges Zeke to crazy double-dog dares just to prove he’s still top dog and Kenny’s best bro—like daring Zeke to propose marriage to Harriet in front of the whole class! But when harmless dares escalate into bad jokes that hurt others, including Harriet and his new friend Absimil, Michael has to figure out how to make things right again.

Will Michael learn that not all double-dog dares are worth it? Will he be able to just let sleeping dogs lie?

Another side-splittingly hilarious adventure by Tony Penn will have students rolling with laughter, while learning life lessons about respect, jealousy, the pressure to keep up with others, open-mindedness, and the value of true friendship.

Helpful tips and discussion questions to share with children are included at the end of the story. 98 pgs.

Purchase all five titles of The Misadventures of Michael McMichaels book series! Great set of stories for independent readers in grades 2 through 7!

The series also include:


Published by Boys Town Press 

ISBN: 978-1-944882-21-1